Ben de Souza in Concert – Friday 15th July 2016 – 19.30 – Reading, Berkshire

Ben de Sousa with his new Beltrami CVC5

Ben de Souza  – Accordion Recital

Royal Academy of Music student Ben de Souza presents a concert of original and transcription works for the accordion, including composers such as Bach, Scarlatti, Trojan, Zolotaryov and Angelis.

Ben will be joined in the second half by soprano Elly Broomfield, a fellow Royal Academy of Music student, for an exciting programme of music by Handel, Gounod, Haydn, Purcell and Piazzolla.

Do come along for what promises to be a great evening’s entertainment!

This concert is to raise funds for building work at the church.
Tickets available on the door only.
Adults: £10
Students: £7
Children: £5

Wesley Methodist Church, Queens Road, Reading, Berkshire RG1 4BW

Friday 15th July 2016 – 19.30 

Parking available at the church and nearby roads and car parks.
The church is a 10 minute walk from Reading station (direct rail links to London Paddington and Waterloo).”

Royal Academy of Music Events for May – Accordion Showcase and Masterclass

Accordion close up

Accordion Showcase

Iosif Purits playing with percussionist in Lindberg's Metalwork










Thursday, 19th May 2016 19:30, David Josefowitz Recital Hall

Always great to keep up with how well the accordion students at the Royal Academy of Music are doing and watching them develop in to fine young artists. It is now 30 years this coming September that the accordion was introduced there.The Academy was the first British conservatoire to introduce teaching for classical accordion as a principal study. Owen Murray has been Head of Accordion since the department was founded in 1986. Going along to support these events enable the students to play for a good size audience and I have seen concerts becoming more and more well-attended over the years which shows that there’s plenty of interest in the accordion out there.

Accordion students will play solo and chamber music works by JS Bach, Scarlatti, Trojan and Berio.


Tickets £7.50 (concessions £5.50) from the Academy’s Box Office: online now, telephone 020 7873 7300(weekdays 10am–4pm)

Accordion Masterclass

24th May 2016 10.00 – 17.00. Lunch 12.00 -1.00 pm. Professor Janne Rättyä. Head of accordion, Graz conservatoire, Austria

Free Admission

Owen Murray with Matti Rantenen with rising stars and ex-RAM students Milos Milivojevic and Ksenija Sidorova at last month's master class.
Owen Murray with Matti Rantenen with rising stars and ex-RAM students Milos Milivojevic and Ksenija Sidorova at last month’s master class.



Ben de Sousa Accordion Recital – Sunday 6th December 2015 –

Ben de Sousa

One of the UK’s rising young accordion talents, Ben de Sousa will be performing works by Bentzon, Trojan, Bach and Scarlatti at a recital on Sunday 6th December at Old Bluecoat School, 1 Chapel Street, Thatcham (nr Newbury) RG18 4JT.  Tickets are available on the door and are priced at £10 for adults and £5 students.  Ben de Sousa is currently studying at the Royal Academy of Music under the tutelage of Owen Murray.

Starts at 16.00.  Arrive early for cake!